States and Capitals of India: Total 28 States & 8 UTs In India

States and Capitals of India:India is the 7th largest country in the world and also the 2nd most populous country. India has a total of 28 states and 8 Union Territories, it forms a union of states in India. India is a country that lies in South Asia. It is officially known as the Republic of India. Each state of India has an administrative, legislative and judicial capital, in fact, in some state, all three functions are conducted in one capital. Every state is ruled by a separate Chief Minister. India is a union of states and in the states, the Governor, as the representative of the President, is the head of Executive. This article talks about the list of States and Capitals of India with the founded year.

States and Capitals of India 2020

How many states are there in India?

How many states are in India? This question may be asked in any examination. Many people don’t have any idea about the total number of States / Union Territories in India and their capitals. In this article, we are providing you with the latest information about the number of States and Union Territories in India. As we all know that, each state has its own chief ministers formulating the policies required to run the state. As of September 2020, there are total of 28 states in India and 8 Union Territories. Union Territories(UT’s) are administered by the President of India through the administrators that are appointed. Hon’ble President of India is the constitutional head of Executive of the Union.

What is a State?

Each state has its own chief ministers formulating the policies required to run the state.Each state of India has an administrative, legislative and judicial capital, in fact, in some state, all three functions are conducted in one capital.All functions of the state are managed by the State Government such as security, education, healthcare, governance etc.

List of States and Capitals of India

Here is the complete list of the Indian States and their capitals that asked in the many govt. examination:

Sr. No States Capital Foundation Day  Language
1 Andhra Pradesh Hyderabad (Proposed capital: Amaravati) 1 Nov 1956 Telugu and Urdu
2. Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar 27 Feb 1987 Miji, Apotanji, Merdukpen, Tagin,Adi, Honpa, Bangini-Nishi.
3 Assam Dispur 26 Jan 1950 Assamese
4 Bihar Patna 26 Jan 1950 Hindi
5 Chhattisgarh Raipur 1 Nov 2000 Hindi
6 Goa Panaji 30 May 1987 Marathi and Konkani
7 Gujarat Gandhinagar 1 May 1960 Gujarati
8 Haryana Chandigarh 1 Nov 1966 Hindi
9 Himachal Pradesh Shimla 25 jan 1971 Hindi and Pahari
10 Jharkhand Ranchi 15 nobv 2000 Hindi
11 Karnataka Bangaluru 1 Nov 1956 Kannad
12 Kerala Thiruvananthapuram 1 Nov 1956 Malayalam
13 Madhya Pradesh Bhopal 1 Nov 1956 Hindi
14 Maharashtra Mumbai 1 May 1960 Marathi
15 Manipur Imphal 21 Jan 1972 Manipuri
16 Meghalaya Shillong 21 Jan 1972 Khasi, Jaintia and Garo
17 Mizoram Aizwal 20 Feb 1987 Mizo and English
18 Nagaland Kohima 1 Dec 1963 Ao, Konyak, Angami, Sema and Lotha
19 Odisha Bhubaneswar 26 Jan 1950 Oriya
20 Punjab Chandigarh 1 Nov 1956 Punjabi
21 Rajasthan Jaipur 1 Nov 1956 Rajasthani and Hindi
22 Sikkim Gangtok 16 May 1975 Bhutia, Hindi, Nepali, Lepcha, Limbu
23 Tamil Nadu Chennai 26 Jan 1950 Tamil
24 Telangana Hyderabad 2 June 2014 Telugu
25 Tripura Agartala 21 Jan 1972 Bengali, Tripuri, Manipuri, Kakborak
26 Uttar Pradesh Lucknow 26 Jan 1950 Hindi
27 Uttarakhand Dehradun(Winter Capital)

Gairsain(Summer Capital)

9 Nov 2000 Hindi
28 West Bengal Kolkata 1 Nov 1956 Bengali

What is a Union Territory?

In India, there are two types of Union Territories. These are

  • Union territory with legislature : This type of UT has an elected legislature and government. For example Delhi, Puducherry and Jammu & kashmir
  • Union territory without legislature  : This type of UT is directly controlled by the central government.

The newly formed union territories have been formed under a reorganization act passed by the Parliament on 5-6 August 2020. At present India has 8 Union Territories. There are 8 union territories in India. The UTs have no separate representation in Rajya Sabha expect Delhi and Puducherry.

How many Union Territories are there in India?

There are a total of 8 Union territories in India. Here is the list of Union Territories of India and their capitals:

Sr. No. Union Territories Capital Foundation Day Language
1 Andaman and Nicobar Islands Port Blair 1 Nov. 1956 Bangini, Hindi
2 Chandigarh Chandigarh 1 Nov. 1966 Hindi, Punjabi, English
3 Dadra and Nagar Haveli Daman 26 Jan. 2020 Gujarati and Rajasthani
4 Delhi New Delhi 9 May. 1905 Hindi, Punjabi, English
5 Jammu and Kashmir Srinagar(Summer Capital)

Jammu (Winter Capital)

31 Oct 2019 Kashmiri,Dogri, Urdu, Ladakhi,
Pahari,Punjabi and Dadri
6 Lakshadweep Kavaratti 1 Nov. 1956 Malayalam and variant of Divehi language
7 Puducherry Pondicherry 1 Nov. 1954 Tamil, Malayalam, Telugu
8 Ladakh Leh 31 Oct 2019 Bhoti

Difference Between State and Union Territory

State Union Territories
 The state has its own administrative units with their own elected government. Union Territories are constituent units which are controlled and administered by the Central Government.
Executive Head is the Governor Executive Head is the President
The relationship with the Centre is Federal. Unitary with the Centre. i.e. all the powers rest in the hands of Union.
Administered by the Chief Minister and elected by the people. Administered by the Administrator which is appointed by the President. ( except Delhi, Puducherry and Jammu & Kashmir)
Chief Minister is the real head. Lieutenant is the real head.

States and Capitals of India FAQs

Q. How many states are there in India in 2020?
Ans. There are total 28 states in India.

Q. How many union territories are there in India?
Ans. There are total 8 Union Territories in India.

Q.Who is the head of Union Territory?
Ans.Lieutenant Governor is the head of the Union Territory.

Q.What is the Capital of India?
Ans.New Delhi is the capital of India.

Q.Which Union territories was merged in January 2020?
Ans.Daman and Diu is merged with Dadar and Nagar Haveli..

You may also like to read :

Download Upcoming Government Exam Calendar 2021


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Forgot Password?

Sign Up
Forgot Password
Enter the email address associated with your account, and we'll email you an OTP to verify it's you.

Reset Password
Please enter the OTP sent to